Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Ross Hawryluk added to CJHL Prospects Game

Photo credit: Susan McNeil/Nipawin Journal

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League, in partnership with the National Hockey League and Hockey Canada, as well as in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting, announced Tuesday a change to the Team West roster for the upcoming CJHL Prospects Game, which goes Tuesday, January 14 at 7 p.m. ET at Dave Andreychuk Arena in Hamilton, Ont.

Named to the Team West line-up from a ranked list of alternates compiled and supplied by NHL Central Scouting is goaltender Ross Hawryluk of the Nipawin Hawks (SJHL).

Hawryluk replaces netminder Ryan Ouelette of the Yorkton Terriers (SJHL) who was previously named to the Team West squad.

The 18-year-old Lloydminster, Alta., product is currently in his rookie campaign with Nipawin in the SJHL where he sports a 9-5-2-0 record along with a goals-against average of 2.38 and a .922 save percentage.

His three shutouts on the year tie him for the most in SJHL play to date this season.

GAME TICKETS: Tickets for the 2020 CJHL Prospects Game will be available at the door on game night.

Tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for seniors and students.


The CJHL Prospects Game is one of the premier Junior A hockey events in the country and provides tremendous exposure for CJHL players to play in front of scouts from all over the hockey world – including the NHL, CHL, NCAA and U Sports.

The President’s Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President’s Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title.

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with player testing, both on-ice and off-ice, having been introduced. Since its inception, Team West has won nine times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

All-Time CJHL Prospects Game President’s Cup results

West 5 East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2006-07: West 6 East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2007-08: East 5 West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2008-09: East 6 West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2009-10: West 8 East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2010-11: East 9 West 2 (2-1 SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2011-12: West 9 East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2012-13: West 8 East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2013-14: East 8 West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014-15: West 3 East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)
2015-16: East 3 West 1 (Surrey, B.C.)
2016-17: West 4 East 3 (Cornwall, Ont.)
2017-18: West 5 East 2 (Mississauga, Ont.)
2018-19: West 5 East 2 (Okotoks, Alta.)
2019-20: East vs. West (Jan. 14 – Hamilton, Ont.)

The CJHL Prospects Game will also be streamed live online via