Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

SJHL Alumni Help Minot State To National Title

By Craig Stein

The Minot State Beavers of the ACHA captured a national championship this week in Texas, capping it off on Tuesday with a 3-1 win over Iowa State in the championship game.

The Beavers have been a solid landing spot for SJHL alumni in recent years and that was certainly the case for this year’s national champions, who were captained by former Nipawin Hawk Blake Fournier (pictured).  Fellow Hawks’ alum Reece Forman and Eric Bollefor were also part of the team.  Former Weyburn Red Wing Shain Scheschuk was second on the team in scoring, with 19-goals and 34-points in 36-games.  Connor Navrot spent time with Battlefords and Kindersley before playing the bulk of his junior career in Manitoba.  Dylan Johnson, a former RBC National Champion in Yorkton was another veteran for Minot State, as was Kent Walchuk (La Ronge), Kyle Lipinski (Humboldt, before playing most of his career outside of Saskatchewan), and Alex Bechtold (Weyburn).

Former Melville Millionaire Josh Bykowski saw the bulk of the action in goal during nationals, including the final, and sported a 9-2-1 record with a 1.64 GAA, .930% and two shutouts during the regular season.

Tag(s): Home