Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

SJHL/MJHL Showcase Rosters Announced: Meet Team Schwartz

The SJHL has released their rosters for the 2021/22  SJHL/MJHL Showcase.

The annual cross-league showcase was originally supposed to take place in Winnipeg, MB.  However, it had been recently cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions and complications.

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League still believes the great players in our league deserve to experience the spotlight that the showcase brings to schools and scouts every year.

Therefore, coaches around the league have assembled the three SJHL rosters that would be representing Saskatchewan.

First up is Team Schwartz, consisting exclusively of players born in 2003 or younger.

Two bright young goaltenders will stand between the pipes in Yorkton’s Kael DePape (03) and Melfort’s James Venne. (04)

The defense is laden with 3 of the top 9 scoring blueliners in the league with Humboldt’s Noah Barlage, Notre Dame’s Jared Sych, and Yorkton’s Parker Jasper.

Rounding out the six with plenty of size and skill are Melville’s Louis Fredric Theberge and two 2004-born d-men in Flin Flon’s Cole Tanchuk, and Battlefords’ Jordan Grill.

Up front, this group can skate with any, but will take some coaching creativity with 12 players represented from 9 different teams.  Humboldt’s Ethan Zielke leads the SJHL in shorthanded points and he’ll center the top line with Kindersley’s 6’3 power forward, Tylin Hilbig and Estevan’s Keagon Little.

A dangerous second line would cause havoc with Flin Flon’s highly skilled pairing of Jeremi Tremblay and Jacob Vockler, centered by Battlefords’ young phenom, Holden Doell.

Don’t sleep on the third line as Noah Wills will bring his elite offensive ability with his Melville teammate, Charles-Thomas LaRochelle and Yorkton’s Clay Sleeva.

A youthful fourth line will look to put their stamp on the showcase. Two 2004-born forwards, Kylynn Olafson of the Bombers and Zac Somers of the Mustangs, will join forces with Notre Dame’s Oliver Band to fill out an incredibly entertaining ‘young guns’ team.

Congratulations to all the players on Team Schwartz!