Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Wasserman and Collin get named to Team West for CJHL Prospects Game

By Dave Leaderhouse

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League, in partnership with the National Hockey League and Hockey Canada as well as in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting, announced Monday its playing rosters for the upcoming CJHL Prospects Game, which will be held on Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. ET in Mississauga, Ont., at Port Credit Memorial Arena.

Each of the players chosen to participate in the CJHL Prospects Game were selected through the efforts of NHL Central Scouting and are currently among the top 40 CJHL prospects heading into the 2018 NHL Draft in Dallas.

“We at the CJHL extend our congratulations to each of the players on their selection to compete in the 2018 CJHL Prospects Game in Mississauga,” stated CJHL President Brent Ladds.

“We also thank and commend NHL Central Scouting for their significant contributions in helping formalize the Team East and Team West rosters,” added Ladds.

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League will have two players compete in the Prospects Game with Humboldt Bronco netminder Jacob Wasserman and Flin Flon Bomber forward Chrystopher Collin getting selected to participate with Team West.

Wasserman has appeared in 22 games with the Broncos and has posted a 12-6-2-2 ledger in his rookie campaign. Collin has averaged nearly a point-per-game in his freshman SJHL season as the Bois De Filion, Que., product has 23 points in 24 games.

Collin missed several games in December while he competed with the gold-medal winning Team West squad at the World Junior “A” Challenge in Truro, N.S., while Wasserman also missed a couple of games as he tried out for that same squad, but he was unsuccessful in landing a spot with the team.


Christian Purboo Oakville Blades OJHL
Jett Alexander North York Rangers OJHL
Evan White St. Stephen Aces MHL
Peter Muzyka North York Rangers OJHL
Mason Snell Wellington Dukes OJHL
Matthew Kellenberger Oakville Blades OJHL
Dustyn McFaul Pickering Panthers OJHL
Harrison Rees North York Rangers OJHL
Zachary Tupker Carleton Place Canadians CCHL
Jack McBain Toronto Jr. Canadiens OJHL
Jesse Tucker North York Rangers OJHL
Ethan Manderville Ottawa Jr. A Senators CCHL
Owen Robinson Blind River Beavers NOJHL
Ben Tupker Carleton Place Canadians CCHL
Logan O’Neil South Shore Lumberjacks MHL
Riley McCutcheon Whitby Fury OJHL
Matt Hayami Oakville Blades OJHL
Derek Dicaire Braves de Valleyfield LHJAAAQ
Finn Evans Ottawa Jr. A Senators CCHL
Cole Edwards Kingston Voyageurs OJHL


Jacob Wasserman Humboldt Broncos SJHL
Matt Thiessen Steinbach Pistons MJHL
Maxwell Crozier Nanaimo Clippers BCHL
Sean Comrie Spruce Grove Saints AJHL
Stanislav Demin Wenatchee Wild BCHL
Jonathon Tychonik Penticton Vees BCHL
Jacob Bernard-Docker Okotoks Oilers AJHL
Seth Barton Trail Smoke Eaters BCHL
Damon Zimmer Spruce Grove Saints AJHL
Brett Stapley Vernon Vipers BCHL
Josh Prokop Vernon Vipers BCHL
Austin Wong Okotoks Oilers AJHL
Ben Sanderson Okotoks Oilers AJHL
Angus Crookshank Langley Rivermen BCHL
Brendan Budy Langley Rivermen BCHL
Riese Gaber Steinbach Pistons MJHL
Simon Boyko Brooks Bandits AJHL
Ethan De Jong Prince George Spruce Kings BCHL
Chrystopher Collin Flin Flon Bombers SJHL
Corey Andonovski Chilliwack Chiefs BCHL

Tickets for the CJHL Prospects Game, which are all general admission, are just $10 and are available now via the following:

Phone: (905) 919-3623 Extension 3
In Person: At all Mississauga Chargers (OJHL) Home Games

The coaching staffs and on-ice officials for the CJHL Prospects game will be announced in the coming days.


The CJHL Prospects Game is one of the premier Junior A hockey events in the country and provides tremendous exposure for CJHL players to play in front of scouts from all over the hockey world – including the NHL, CHL, NCAA and Canadian universities and colleges.

The President’s Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President’s Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title.

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with player testing, both on-ice and off-ice, having been introduced. Since its inception, Team West has won seven times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

All-Time CJHL Prospects Game President’s Cup results

2006: Team West 5 Team East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2007: Team West 6 Team East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2008: Team East 5 Team West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2009: Team East 6 Team West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2010: Team West 8 Team East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2011: Team East 9 Team West 2 (2-1 SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2012: Team West 9 Team East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2013: Team West 8 Team East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014: Team East 8 Team West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2015: Team West 3 Team East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)
2016: Team East 3 Team West 1 (Surrey, B.C.)
2017: Team West 4 Team East 3 (Cornwall, Ont.)
2018: Team East vs. Team West • Tuesday, January 23, 2018 • 7:30 p.m. ET (Mississauga, Ont.)

The CJHL Prospects Game will also be streamed live online via

Tag(s): Home