Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

SJHL Develops Strategic Plan and Department of Player Safety

The Annual General Meeting for the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League was held this past weekend in North Battleford. Kyle Adamson from the Kindersley Klippers was elected Chairman and Tim Verklan from the Nipawin Hawks was elected Vice Chair.

The Board of Governors and Commissioner Kyle McIntyre developed a new strategic plan for the next five years in the areas of Hockey Operations, Marketing, and Business Operations.

“It is an exciting time for the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League. Under new leadership we have been working on developing a new vision for our league and are striving to become the Premier Junior “A” hockey league in Canada. Thank you to our governors for having faith in my leadership. I look forward to working closely with all 12 teams and Commissioner McIntyre to make our league the number one choice for junior A hockey players in Canada,” said Adamson.

The league is looking at promoting more homegrown Saskatchewan talent and developing stronger working partnerships with the Saskatchewan U18 AAA League, U Sports, ACAC and NCAA communities.

A new Department of Player Safety and Standard of Play has also been created to ensure that the league continues to focus on both the skill and safety of players. This department will be led by Brad Howard and Clint Joyes.

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League and its twelve teams are known for its exceptional player development and its commitment to its players, its people, and the communities it serves.

Rich Traditions. Strong Future. For more information please contact Commissioner Kyle McIntyre

“To provide Saskatchewan Junior Hockey players with the opportunity to compete at an elite level while striving to achieve their educational and career goals.”